Tucber Park take Upper Corentyne to school

first_imgBCB/Stag Beer 50-Over First Division cricket tournamentꟷ join Rose Hall Town in final; D’Andrade, Lindie slam tonsIn a full display of class by the dynamic Tucber Park duo of Anthony D’Andrade and Clifton Lindee — who each smashed centuries to defeat Upper Corentyne by 188 runs at Albion on Saturday last — New Amsterdam/Canje giants Tucber Park Cricket Club have advanced to the finals of the Berbice Cricket Board’s (BCB’s)/Ansa McAL Stag Beer 50-Over tournament.Antony D’AndradeIn the match alluded to, Tucber Park won the toss and elected to bat first. They amassed a massive 338-5 in 50 overs, with former National Under-19 batsman D’Andrade rolling back the years with a polished 110 that included seven boundaries and two sixes; while fellow middle order batsman Lindee also scored 102, including nine boundaries and four sixes.The Upper Corentyne bowlers and fielders struggled to cope with the blazing sunshine abounding at the Albion Sports Complex. Guyana Under-19 batsman Garfield Benjamin struck 53, and Martin Singh made 27, supporting the two century makers as Tucber Park racked up the highest total of the tournament.Upper Corentyne’s best bowlers were Devindra Bishoo with 2-48 and Steve Embrack 2-55.Clifton LindeeRequiring 339 from 50 overs to reach the finals, Upper Corentyne were bowled out for 150 in 40 overs, to lose the match by 188 runs. Veteran off-spinner Devon Clements grabbed 3-26, while paceman Nial Smith had 2-20 and Guyana Under-19 pacer Leon Swammy bagged 2-18 for the Tucber Park team.Tameshwar Ramoutar top-scored with 48, while Embrack and Gooniah chipped in with 21 and 18 respectively.The BCB will shortly name the date and venue for the finals, once certain arrangements fall into place.The Tucber Park side would be spearheaded by the returning Warriors’ player Romario Shepherd, and include Devon Clements, Garfield Benjamin, Kwesi Mickle, Clifton Lindee, Nial Smith, Leon Swammy and Damon Vantull.The powerful Rose Hall Town Namilco Flour team would include players like Shawn Pereira, Clinton Pestano, Eon Hooper, Delbert Hicks, Kevin and Junior Sinclair, Keith Simpson, Kevlon Anderson, Jonathan Rampersaud, Sylus Tyndall and Jason Sinclair.last_img read more