Ktaka Speaker KR Ramesh disqualifies 3 rebel MLAs

first_imgNEW DELHI: Three rebel MLAs who withdrew support to the Karnataka government and switched sides, have been disqualified by Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar. “R Shankar of Ranebennur has incurred disqualification,” the Speaker announced at a press conference Thursday evening amid suspense over the fate of the 15 rebel lawmakers of the coalition government of the Congress and HD Kumaraswamy’s Janata Dal-Secular.All 15 resigned earlier this month, bringing down the coalition government, which lost the test of strength in the assembly on Monday. Also Read – India gets first tranche of Swiss bank a/c detailsIf the Speaker does not accept the resignations, the MLAs would remain members of the assembly and the strength of the house will remain 225, including one nominated member. In such a situation, the majority mark remains at 113. The disqualification of the one Independent MLA does not affect the numbers. The BJP, which currently has 105 members, is not in favour of forming a minority government, party spokesman G Madhusudan had indicated. In such a situation, placing the state under President’s Rule is one of the alternatives for the Governor, he hinted. See P5last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *